CubieBoard Forum

Cubieboard itself => General Discussion => Topic started by: lawrence on January 07, 2015, 12:34:54 am

Title: CubieScreen (for A10/ A20 cubies)
Post by: lawrence on January 07, 2015, 12:34:54 am
Took my Cubie out of storage and bought a little touch screen for it - RMB158 (USD 25+-)
800 x 480 resolution.
Mounts directly onto the back mounting pins on the A10 / A20 based cubies.

Photos below:

Packaging
(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7477/16218869062_3c30cae69d_o_d.jpg)

Screen
(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7514/16219671895_f9392e9f60_o_d.jpg)

Screen
(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8675/16218887202_772086eac3_o_d.jpg)

Screen mounted onto Cubie
(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7525/16193811356_7c1e9e0b6f_o_d.jpg)

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7496/16193813746_ee50bfeee7_o_d.jpg)

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8572/16193816436_3a80abeee8_o_d.jpg)


Still have to find my 5v psu with the small header, so I can't power it up and show you a display yet.
Title: Re: CubieScreen (for A10/ A20 cubies)
Post by: actkk2000 on January 07, 2015, 03:30:41 pm
Cool stuff!  :D
Title: Re: CubieScreen (for A10/ A20 cubies)
Post by: laba on February 10, 2015, 07:22:29 am
Hi,
I need a suggestion from another user that has this screen.
I bought this very nice screen for my Cubieboard.
Then I downloaded the Cubieez image for the Cb1 from here:

http://dl.cubieboard.org/addon/Cubiescreen/image/cb1-cubieez/

installed on the SD ( tried to copy on the NAND, following a guide that helped me with the "vanilla" version of CUbieez, but then the system doesn't boot from NAND) and everything works.

But.. there are 2 issues:

1) after a while the system is on, the CPU is fully occupied, top  show an usage more than 2-3.5 (I know that probably there is a bug and  the result is not the correct one, because is "1" too much.. so should  be aroung 1.5-2.5).
The process that is bursting the CPU i kworker, and seems connected  with the touchscreen driver.
In fact dmesg reports something like this

[ 5290.160195] bus is busy, status = f9
[ 5290.165945] Retrying transmission 1
[ 5290.172212] bus is busy, status = f9
[ 5290.178297] Retrying transmission 0
[ 5290.185715] msg ft5x_i2c_rxdata i2c read error: -121
[ 5290.198578] ***CTP***ft5x_read_data:893 read_data i2c_rxdata failed: -121


for hundred lines. And the same when shooting down.
Any idea abouth the causes and possible solutions?
Is it possible to install the drivers on a "working" installation, instead of using this pre-compiled image? Or trhying to build an image following the instruction on the cubescreen site would be a good idea? Even if I'm afraid the result could be the same.


2) Video online decoding is terribly slow. For example, on youtube, even if now it uses HTML5. I still haven't tried looking for any video with gnomeplayer, xbmc or similar, but I'm afraid there is something related to video acceleration.

So.. I'd be very grateful if you could help me!Thanks :D
Title: Re: CubieScreen (for A10/ A20 cubies)
Post by: fulvous on October 30, 2017, 02:44:25 am
Hi laba:

Did you manage to fix this issue? I am having the same situation, any help would be very appreciated.

Regards,

fulvous