Author Topic: Using u-boot from NAND to boot to SATA SSD?  (Read 6787 times)

Offline hvergelmir

• View Profile
Using u-boot from NAND to boot to SATA SSD?
« on: May 31, 2015, 09:26:43 am »
Hi,

I've read a bit here on the forum and also elsewhere. In general I think I understand how to put certain of the things together, but I'm missing some pieces of the puzzle. I'm by far not new to Linux, but I'm relatively new to Linux on CubieTruck.

Now used Igor's SD card image for Ubuntu 14.04 with kernel 3.4.107. It boots perfectly fine from SD card as expected. After partitioning my /dev/sda (a SATA SSD) I used the /root/nand-sata-install script to install the system to the SATA drive (I did some other customizations, but they are not relevant here).

Now I'd like to get rid of having to use the microSD to boot. I'd also like to use the NAND as a fallback ("rescue mode", if you will) if the SATA drive should ever fail or should I ever break the system there.

I partitioned my NAND thus using: nand-part -f a20 /dev/nand 32768 'bootloader 131072' 'rootfs 14778368', since I'm using the 16 GB NAND version of CT; nand-part shows the layout accordingly:

Code: [Select]
# nand-part -f a20 /dev/nand
check partition table copy 0: mbr: version 0x00000200, magic softw411
OK
check partition table copy 1: mbr: version 0x00000200, magic softw411
OK
check partition table copy 2: mbr: version 0x00000200, magic softw411
OK
check partition table copy 3: mbr: version 0x00000200, magic softw411
OK
mbr: version 0x00000200, magic softw411
2 partitions
partition  1: class =         DISK, name =   bootloader, partition start =    32768, partition size =   131072 user_type=0
partition  2: class =         DISK, name =       rootfs, partition start =   163840, partition size = 14778368 user_type=0
# lsblk
NAME        MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda           8:0    0 465.8G  0 disk
├─sda1        8:1    0    64G  0 part /
├─sda2        8:2    0   400G  0 part