Author Topic: Get the full 2 GB ram ?  (Read 3992 times)

Offline cubieboard_user12123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« on: March 24, 2015, 08:32:02 am »
with the command "top" i get only ~1,7 GB of total available memory. is there a way to get the full 2 GB of memory on bootup ?

Offline actkk2000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 570
  • Karma: +1/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2015, 09:29:48 am »
I don't own an A80 board but I believe there should be some memory reserved for video...

Offline cubieboard_user12123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2015, 02:55:19 am »
no.... it says "total available mem 1666020"

I read about other cubie A10 and A20 and truck that there are the same problems. And there is a way to modify the env.text to get the full mem space. but A80 has no env.text.

Does anyone know how to get the full mem available on startup ??

Offline __AlexL__

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2015, 06:43:06 am »
you can recompile kernel with less ion memory. But in this case: no 3d, slow 2d, no cedarx.

Offline cubieboard_user12123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2015, 01:26:15 pm »
i don´t need a fast gui. I use it only to see different terminals at one time. so gui speed isnt important for me.

you can recompile kernel with less ion memory. But in this case: no 3d, slow 2d, no cedarx.
Only recompile ? I thought it could be managed on boottime. like uEnv.txt


Offline __AlexL__

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2015, 01:00:41 am »
kernel parameters can be hardcoded only for uboot from allwinner. I was not able to find another way.

Offline allen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2015, 02:14:51 am »
change to  "CONFIG_ION_SUNXI_CARVEOUT_SIZE=128"  in the kernel_deconfig ,recompile kernel  ,the ram will be release.

Offline cubieboard_user12123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2015, 02:36:08 am »
So , I have a fully working Image. I would need a lot of Time to Start again. I dont want to start again from scratch. There is no other way? Only Start from beginning to get the full ram ?. Is there any other way to get that working?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2015, 02:37:47 am by cubieboard_user12123 »

Offline __AlexL__

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2015, 03:21:28 am »
I usually spent 5 minutes to recompile the kernel. The problem is far-fetched.

Offline allen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2015, 03:57:56 am »
So , I have a fully working Image. I would need a lot of Time to Start again. I dont want to start again from scratch. There is no other way? Only Start from beginning to get the full ram ?. Is there any other way to get that working?
i can sent  a uboot that release the RAM ,because cubieboard4 has no uEnv.txt ,all bootcmd  should be write in the source code of uboot , What is your email address ?

 i am interesting  in your idea  booting from different systems. i think i can help you .

Offline cubieboard_user12123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2015, 04:14:54 am »
I have sent you an Email.

Im a newbie to cubieboard. But i want to implement this idea.

Thx for your Support.

What do i have to do to get this working with your uboot?

Offline mr.dom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2016, 02:59:08 pm »
I usually spent 5 minutes to recompile the kernel. The problem is far-fetched.

Can you describe how you do that?

Offline mr.dom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2016, 12:05:50 am »
How the heck extend the RAM? I already got tired searching on that answer. No one really knows. Saying to recompile the kernel - but how?

Offline sam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2016, 09:45:48 pm »
How the heck extend the RAM? I already got tired searching on that answer. No one really knows. Saying to recompile the kernel - but how?

refer the docs build it:
http://dl.cubieboard.org/model/cc-a80/Doc/ubuntu-linaro/Cubieboard4-Linux-Sdk-Guide.pdf

Offline allen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Get the full 2 GB ram ?
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2016, 07:49:27 am »
How the heck extend the RAM? I already got tired searching on that answer. No one really knows. Saying to recompile the kernel - but how?

i can sent the u-boot to you and tell you how to use . i can't upload big attachments.