Author Topic: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu 12, nand.img + sd.img, working full-hd, multi DE)  (Read 53034 times)

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2014, 09:29:56 am »
You have just applied the "patch" commenting the led string, don't need to redownlaod all ;)
but...if you wanna test if the new img works (on your sd card) you'r welcome  :)
(you'll need only to change the root in uEnv to come back at your sata installation)

Just the time to correct the first post and the dl link
edit: ok, fixed..hope this one is the good one  ;D
« Last Edit: February 12, 2014, 09:43:46 am by Tokka »
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2014, 10:16:50 am »
Hey, you are a little cryptic...  :o

So, if I apply the fix in the /etc/rc.local then I guess the SATA LED will not work as before, but the Overclock will. So it is the one or the other, not both together?


Offline patwood

  • Linux geek
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1660
  • Karma: +129/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2014, 10:50:03 am »
A few things on the LED trigger:

The current kernel supports "disk-activity" as an led trigger to flash an led when there's activity on a SATA or USB file system.

The available triggers can be see like this:

Code: [Select]
cat /sys/devices/platform/leds-sunxi/leds/blue:ph21:led1/trigger
[none] battery-charging-or-full battery-charging battery-full battery-charging-blink-full-solid ac-online usb-online mmc0 mmc1 timer disk-activity heartbeat cpu0 cpu1 default-on

The one inside [] is the currently-selected trigger.  sda isn't one of the available triggers, so attempting to echo it to the led trigger sysfs file causes an error.  For rc.local, any error causes the script to exit.  You can run commands in it in such a way as to ignore any error with

Code: [Select]
echo sda > /sys/class/leds/green:ph20:led1/trigger || true
This says, run the echo command; if it returns an error (exit code != 0) then see if the next command (true) works.  Essentially, the error code of this sequence is (any command OR true) which always must resolve to true.

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #33 on: February 12, 2014, 12:11:14 pm »
Pat, there is a way to remove the disk-activity without recompiling the kernel? :P
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #34 on: February 12, 2014, 12:19:36 pm »
I added the double pipe as mentioned and now it works!

Great...

Offline JotaMG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #35 on: February 12, 2014, 12:35:28 pm »
Hi!
I have a Cubie A10 with 1 Gb ram, and some questions...  ;-)

1) does this kernel support zd1211 wifi driver?
2) can I flash it on a 2Gb SD card?
3) how much free memory is available?
4) how is the performance, in general? is enough for normal desktop use?
5) when you say SMplayer runs video in 1080p, do you mean hardware accelerated?
6) can I update Ubuntu to newer releases or that is not recommended, it is better to stay with 12.04 only?

Many thanks!!
J.

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #36 on: February 12, 2014, 12:57:23 pm »
Hi :)
1) does this kernel support zd1211 wifi driver?
i don't have one to test, but it should
2) can I flash it on a 2Gb SD card?
no, you need a 4 gb card :(
3) how much free memory is available?
the default memory used, with gnome, is near 170mb, so you have more or less approx 630
mb free
4) how is the performance, in general? is enough for normal desktop use?
depend on how you do with a "normale desktop" pc  ;D, but even if a bit slow, is it a normal desk pc (lot of things to test yet...is a pretty young release  :-[)
5) when you say SMplayer runs video in 1080p, do you mean hardware accelerated?
Smplayer is for 720p and youtube, Mplayer is for 1080p, using vdpau
6) can I update Ubuntu to newer releases or that is not recommended, it is better to stay with 12.04 only?
better stay with 12.04, but if wanna try... ;D ;D
Many thanks!!
J.
you'r welcome  :)
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Offline sbfreddie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #37 on: February 12, 2014, 01:43:20 pm »
Tokka:
What is the possibility of building this for the CB2 or the CT?
Are you're build scripts available?

Thanks,
Freddie

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #38 on: February 12, 2014, 01:48:13 pm »
Yes, Ikeeki is just working on that (in the few free time :-[)
I haven't cb2/ct to do it by myself :'(
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #39 on: February 12, 2014, 01:49:45 pm »
Just a remark:

Changing rootfs from a Class10 SDCard to a 2,5" SATA Disk is like night to day. Incredible difference. This systems responsiness is much better. Everything is much faster... Feels like having 2 GHz instead of 1...

Offline patwood

  • Linux geek
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1660
  • Karma: +129/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #40 on: February 12, 2014, 03:35:09 pm »
Pat, there is a way to remove the disk-activity without recompiling the kernel? :P

Don't set disk-activity in the trigger file. The default comes from the script.bin, and if nothing is set there, the default is "none".

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu 12, nand.img + sd.img, working full-hd, multi DE)
« Reply #41 on: February 17, 2014, 07:53:56 pm »
Updated version  8) (read first post)
Thanks to Ikeeki and Pat for porting on A20 too  :-*
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Offline JotaMG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Hi!
I installed this firmware on nand, it works OK but I can not change to 1920x1080 resolution...
What I am missing?

ikeeki

  • Guest
Check out uEnv put 1920x1080p50 where screen mode .try with and without edid word
Tokka and I may upload a new image soon too.

Offline JotaMG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Check out uEnv put 1920x1080p50 where screen mode .try with and without edid word
Tokka and I may upload a new image soon too.

Hi!
If you mean disp.screen0_output_mode=1920x1080p50 or disp.screen0_output_mode=EDID:1920x1080p50
they did not work. The screen gets scrambled and the CB does nor even boot.

But I did manage to get 1920x1080 working by editing xorg.conf and putting there my monitor timings. It works OK, albeit a little slower, but the fonts are very small.
Also SMtube works OK full screen.
Ah, I did upgrade Xorg to 7.7.