Author Topic: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu 12, nand.img + sd.img, working full-hd, multi DE)  (Read 53042 times)

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2014, 03:05:23 pm »
I deleted now the rootfs partition from the SD card...

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2014, 03:31:19 pm »
Great. I have Zoneminder running and it is much faster than before...

Now the rootfs is on the SATA, which speeds up mysql incredibly...

Great... Thanks for this great image....

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2014, 03:32:04 pm »
Where can I see the CPU frequency and if it is compiled with ARMHF?

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2014, 03:36:34 pm »
The rootfs on sd may be usefull for emergency backup :P
to see cpu freq give
cat /proc/cpuinfo
As i said, is not the cpu to be armhf, but the OS, and it is ;)
(try an upgrade or to install something, you'll see the packages showed as *.armhf.* ;) )
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2014, 03:41:00 pm »
The rootfs on sd may be usefull for emergency backup :P
to see cpu freq give
cat /proc/cpuinfo
As i said, is not the cpu to be armhf, but the OS, and it is ;)
(try an upgrade or to install something, you'll see the packages showed as *.armhf.* ;) )

OK...

there is only the BOGOMIPS... I read that you have overclocked the Cubie 1, do I need to activate it, or how is it done?

Great job anyway... I am really happy now  ;D

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #20 on: February 11, 2014, 03:45:51 pm »
If you see this, is just overclocked:
Quote
cubie@Qbee-X:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor   : ARMv7 Processor rev 2 (v7l)
BogoMIPS   : 1145.00

if you see this, is not  :-\ :
Quote
cubie@Qbee-X:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor   : ARMv7 Processor rev 2 (v7l)
BogoMIPS   : 1001.88
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #21 on: February 11, 2014, 03:47:17 pm »
Code: [Select]
root@Qbee-X:/etc/apache2# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : ARMv7 Processor rev 2 (v7l)
BogoMIPS        : 1006.38
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant     : 0x3
CPU part        : 0xc08
CPU revision    : 2

Hardware        : sun4i
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #22 on: February 11, 2014, 03:53:30 pm »
 :-\
Quote
sudo nano /etc/rc.local
comment the line as below:
Quote
#echo sda > /sys/class/leds/green:ph20:led1/trigger
ctrl +x to save and exit
Quote
sudo /etc/init.d/rc.local start

than recheck the freq
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Offline patwood

  • Linux geek
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1660
  • Karma: +129/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #23 on: February 11, 2014, 11:12:41 pm »
Where can I see the CPU frequency and if it is compiled with ARMHF?

CPU freq:

Code: [Select]
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
ARMHF for a binary executable:

Code: [Select]
readelf -A /bin/bash | grep Tag_ABI_VFP
Not sure if you can tell from the /proc/cpuinfo features, but I haven't seen anyone building armel kernels for the A10 for almost a year now.

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2014, 01:41:32 am »
So this kernel now is a Hardfloat Kernel, but this does necessarily mean, that it has NEON instructions compiled into it. Is ffmpeg compiled with NEON instructions?

Sorry for maybe stupid questions. I am not a C hacker, I do my dev with PHP...  :o

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2014, 01:59:38 am »
Funny....

Code: [Select]
root@Qbee-X:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : ARMv7 Processor rev 2 (v7l)
BogoMIPS        : 1150.15
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant     : 0x3
CPU part        : 0xc08
CPU revision    : 2

Hardware        : sun4i
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000

Why does commenting the HDD light line, influence the CPU frequency?

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #26 on: February 12, 2014, 05:44:23 am »
Code: [Select]
rootfs           3023760 2636628    233532  92% /
/dev/root        3023760 2636628    233532  92% /
devtmpfs          415040       4    415036   1% /dev
none               83032     584     82448   1% /run
none                5120       0      5120   0% /run/lock
none              415144      76    415068   1% /run/shm
/dev/mmcblk0p2  30408732  176064  28687964   1% /media/SD_CARD_Free
/dev/mmcblk0p1     20422    4882     15540  24% /media/BOOT_SD
/dev/sda2        3023760 2636628    233532  92% /media/SATA

Only one problem... the DISK (SATA) is 60 GB , but after the DD it has only the original 3 GB from the SDCARD... How can I fix this?

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #27 on: February 12, 2014, 07:03:11 am »
Code: [Select]
root@Qbee-X:~# df
Filesystem     1K-blocks    Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs          53861720 2642064  48484592   6% /
/dev/root       53861720 2642064  48484592   6% /
devtmpfs          415040       4    415036   1% /dev
none               83032     584     82448   1% /run
none                5120       0      5120   0% /run/lock
none              415144      76    415068   1% /run/shm
/dev/mmcblk0p2   3023760 2636696    233464  92% /media/Qbee-X
/dev/mmcblk0p1     20422    4882     15540  24% /media/BOOT_SD

I succeeded... I switched back to rootfs on SD, than run fsck, the resize2fs and switched back rootfs to SATA.... *done*

I am proud of myself...

Offline Tokka

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #28 on: February 12, 2014, 08:32:56 am »

Why does commenting the HDD light line, influence the CPU frequency?

Because the cpu overclock is set in tc.local, but wrong instructions prevent to be started, and with last changes, the green led is becamed a wrong instruction :-\  ;D (fixed i the new upload)
CB1 (A10) - Qbee-X_TMC

Laffer

  • Guest
Re: Qbee-X for A10 (ubuntu precise, working full-hd)
« Reply #29 on: February 12, 2014, 09:24:42 am »
OK. Is it possible to fix it with the actual build/image or does it mean everything from scratch?