December 13, 2019, 11:49:49 pm

News:

Have you visited the Allwinner Chipset wiki? - http://linux-sunxi.org/

Can _NOT_ make SD card boot work!

Started by golfsmith, February 08, 2014, 01:51:12 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

golfsmith

Hi,

I am new to cubie and just got a cubie1 to play with. I tried following to boot from Micro SD card and it didn't work. The card is 16G.
First I downloaded cb_a10_lubuntu12.04_v1.04.img. Then I tried both win32diskimager and unetbootin tool from my Windows8 machine. Both fail to boot and cubie always drop in Android.

I think this is very basic stuff and couldn't figure out anything wrong with it. Can someone help me here?

thanks

Derek

patwood

Are you writing the .img to the entire card (i.e., overwriting the boot sector) or to the first partition?  These images are like .iso files for CD-ROMs and DVDs -- the data represents a snapshot of an entire card starting at the very first byte.

golfsmith

I don't see any options in both win32diskimager and unetbootin tools to choose where to write the image. so I just use the default. I even tried the image from a regular laptop computer and at least it started try to boot so I believe the write of the image to cubie is correct. The problem now seems to be why cubie doesn't even try to boot from the micro sd card? Is there something I need to do on the cubie itself to make it boot from sd card?  thanks!

patwood

Quote from: golfsmith on February 08, 2014, 10:46:10 pm
The problem now seems to be why cubie doesn't even try to boot from the micro sd card? Is there something I need to do on the cubie itself to make it boot from sd card?  thanks!

No, the Allwinner chips have a specific boot sequence, and they check the SD card for a bootable image first, before checking the internal nand flash.  If you've got a bootable SD card, that's what it'll boot from.