Author Topic: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?  (Read 6161 times)

Offline totalguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« on: January 24, 2014, 02:42:16 pm »
ive been looking for heatsinks for my 2 cubieboard 2's and having little luck but i have found somewhere i can get ones to fit quite well. We are talking 2 heatsinks both the same size one for the 2 ram chips and 1 for the processor including thermal sticky pads.

the problem is i have to buy in bulk to get them so i was wondering if theres a market for this? the heatsinks are 20 x 20 x 6mm so will fit in the simple clear perspex case without modification. of course they will fit the clu cooler i think perfect but across the 2 ram chips would be slightly small but would cover most of the chips leaving approximately 0.5mm either side


Offline ahrovan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • BirRoboticGroup
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2014, 03:13:24 pm »


use heat sinks and make your cpu safe !
REF :: http://en.bir-robotic.ir/
« Last Edit: April 10, 2014, 03:14:34 pm by ahrovan »

Offline totalguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2014, 03:41:33 pm »
nice i tried to find any documentation on this on the link you gave i couldnt seem to find it

Offline ahrovan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • BirRoboticGroup
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2014, 04:15:36 pm »
Uploaded ..

Offline totalguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2014, 08:18:03 am »
cool thanks, ive been trying the image on there on my cb2 but i cant seem to get internet access ive plugged in ethernet cable and its not working. i tried changing some settings but nothing worked

Offline ahrovan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • BirRoboticGroup
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2014, 09:59:45 am »
ok -
You can enable it by following these two steps:
1. To check under what name the LAN is associated write “ifconfig –a”
2. If, for example, it is under eth0 name, then write: “dhclient eth0″
This should enable the Ethernet and then SSH would also be available.

Example Image http://brg.vvs.ir/2014/01/a20-debian-release-5-tested-on-cb2/ (new link http://en.bir-robotic.ir/?p=129)
« Last Edit: April 10, 2014, 03:15:39 pm by ahrovan »

Offline Jojo

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Cubieboard 2 - A20, aRUNTU v1.666
    • View Profile
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2014, 03:25:10 am »
Hi,

just for your information: it is very easy to build sufficient heatsinks on your own. This is what I did:

  • found an old CPU heatsink in one of my boxes (you can also buy them for less then 1 Euro (might be a little more in Dollar).
  • measured the size of the A20 on my CB2 (you can also have a look into the data sheet ;) ). It is ~19mmx19mm
  • took my Dremel 300 and cut out a nice fitting piece out of the heatsink
  • smoothed the edges with a fine file (not the digital data thing, but the tool!). This is important to have good contact and no sharp between the heatsink and the processor.
  • took some thermal adhesive and glued the heatsink on the A20.

The result was satisfying :) . I run my CB2 20% overclocked since months (normal use and benchmarks) and it has never become unstable.

I don't want to encouarge you to overclock, but just recycle the things you might already have at home  8) .

Greetings,
Jojo
Don't think that anyone will take more pains for his answer, as you took for your question.

Offline ahrovan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • BirRoboticGroup
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2014, 04:03:05 am »
Thanks Jojo -  ;)
Your Post Linked Here cb-heatsink-and-box

Offline totalguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2014, 07:05:23 am »
i have heatsinks on the ram chips and cpu on 2 cb2's one of my cb2's has been running for over 60 days non stop linux on sd card running bfg miner (bitcoin mining) ive only had to restart it a few times but otherwise its been running 24/7

Offline ahrovan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
    • BirRoboticGroup
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2014, 01:46:51 pm »
-  remove heatsink from ram chips
- check heatsink heat-when use your cb - most of time - also with heatsink - the temp raising above 50C
- check your power source

  :-\

Offline totalguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2014, 02:01:05 pm »
im having no problems both ram and cpu around 26c

Offline Jojo

  • Developer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Cubieboard 2 - A20, aRUNTU v1.666
    • View Profile
Re: do you want cb1 and cb2 heatsinks?
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2014, 10:32:58 am »
I have no heatsinks on my RAMs at all  :o  :o
Don't think that anyone will take more pains for his answer, as you took for your question.