Author Topic: Wheezy, Jessie & Trusty for SD, SATA or NAND with hotspot & BT - upd. 16.9.2016  (Read 444883 times)

Offline ba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #30 on: January 01, 2014, 04:13:07 pm »
Please continue work on your image - today i'm trying the nand image.

First try did not work - the ethernet adress is coded as static. So you need a serial access to change it. Moving the filesystem failed


Offline peter_a

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #31 on: January 01, 2014, 05:42:40 pm »
I`ve install the latest version of Cubieez debian and it`s working quite well so far .
I made a rootfs partition and same size as the nand , so I can copy the rootfs back forth , but not tried copying the rootfs from the sata drive back to nand yet.

The problem I had to start with was finding password ( cubieboard ) to get in so I could edit out the network interfaces so I could get in via ssh.
 I`ve installed tvheadend ( signal tuner ) , mpd / mpc , deluge and flexget and had no problem with any install , which is not what you can say with Ubuntu.

The only problem I`ve got right now is the "load average always above 1.00" . http://www.cubieforums.com/index.php/topic,1084.0.html

I tried the usb_det_vbus_gpio = "axp_ctrl" mod , and mpd just from 5% to 55% , which I think it was using the extra 50% cpu writing 1000s of error messages to the error log.
dvb-t tuner error , so I broke the usb ports with it !!!!

« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 05:45:13 pm by peter_a »

Offline ba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #32 on: January 01, 2014, 06:40:38 pm »
Hello Peter, I didn't manage to move the rootfs from nandb to my ssd device.

A tried the same way as described for lubuntu (which workd with lubuntu)?

I also tried a copying with rsync. But it end in a missing root system.

Offline peter_a

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #33 on: January 01, 2014, 06:54:09 pm »
I did mess it up the first time around , but it was my fault .

I used the dd method to copy , but my mistake was the partition was mounted  .
so after it had finished copying I did a reboot ( no sync ) and all looking o.k untill I did a apt-get update , which wouldn`t work .

Tried again , no problems ...

Offline ba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #34 on: January 01, 2014, 07:05:44 pm »
after dd you changed the uEnv.txt to your hdd?

Offline peter_a

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #35 on: January 01, 2014, 07:10:14 pm »
Yep , and after it had booted put on a text file , saying nand and sata , just to make sure where the rootfs was.

Offline ba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #36 on: January 02, 2014, 06:29:14 am »
Hello Peter,

i tried a second time with dd. After dd I check the new volume und resized. My nand_root points now to the /dev/sda1. By mount it is not shown als /dev/sda1, but my root is now on the ssd.


Offline peter_a

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #37 on: January 02, 2014, 07:17:55 am »
I made a small rooft partition on the sata drive and mounted and rest of the drive.
That way the nand and sata was the same size , so I could keep moving the image.

I think the problem is ? , if it start to write to something while making the image , so leaving the image in a mixed up state.

Offline patwood

  • Linux geek
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1660
  • Karma: +129/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #38 on: January 02, 2014, 03:21:08 pm »
I made a small rooft partition on the sata drive and mounted and rest of the drive.
That way the nand and sata was the same size , so I could keep moving the image.

I think the problem is ? , if it start to write to something while making the image , so leaving the image in a mixed up state.

One disadvantage of using dd instead of cp or rsync to copy a file system is that updates to the source file system can cause the dd to corrupt parts of the copy. The only thing that can go wrong with an rsync copy is a file or two might be out of sync, but at least the file system metadata won't be corrupted.

Offline agarbato

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #39 on: January 02, 2014, 06:39:13 pm »
Nice work Igor.. thans!!!

Works fine on my new cubie.

Just a couple of questions :

I'm using the very last image with VGA. 
I'd like to install a small desktop environment like LXDE but even if it's installed I can't start it at all with lightdm,gdm3 or whatever.  Do I need do add something to your image in order to have a X env?

Last.. 
The only thing is not working for me is OTG hub.
It looks it's completely ignored. Plug/Unplug devices from an external hub doesn't have any effect, no log messages at all.   Do you know how we can fix also this?

Thanks
A.








Offline slovenia

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 500
  • Karma: +46/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #40 on: January 03, 2014, 02:56:59 am »
I'm using the very last image with VGA. 
I'd like to install a small desktop environment like LXDE but even if it's installed I can't start it at all with lightdm,gdm3 or whatever.  Do I need do add something to your image in order to have a X env?

Sure you can install desktop environment but at least you should edit /boot/uEnv.txt and remove this:

Code: [Select]
sunxi_no_mali_mem_reserve sunxi_g2d_mem_reserve=0 sunxi_ve_mem_reserve=0
I was not testing desktop so there might be some other things to do.

Last.. 
The only thing is not working for me is OTG hub.
It looks it's completely ignored. Plug/Unplug devices from an external hub doesn't have any effect, no log messages at all.   Do you know how we can fix also this?

Trouble can be with not sufficient power supply. I have one small 4 port hub and it is working. Not on the build which you are using but I will test on today's build to make sure.
Debian and Ubuntu images with kernel 3.4.110, 4.3.3, 4.4
http://www.armbian.com

Offline agarbato

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #41 on: January 03, 2014, 06:22:56 am »
Thanks, I replaced script.bin with the one I'm using on Lubuntu and LXDE works fine.

Still can't get my monitor native resolution 1920x1200 (16/10) but this is not related to your image and I've no idea how to fix this. Apparently there's no way to have this resolution, is not listed on Fex guide. No idea why with HDMI I can get it, maybe resolution it's scaled somehow.

About OTG my external hub has its own power and works fine with Lubuntu image.
I tried also to connect a single usb stick to the OTG but no luck so I guess the problem is not the HUB but the OTG port. Maybe we're missing some modules/drivers?

PS : I'm using 1st Jan image VGA.

Thanks
A.

Offline agarbato

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #42 on: January 03, 2014, 06:51:35 am »
How to enable jumbo frames?

I tried with mtu 9000 but.

Jan  3 11:36:40 cubie kernel: [  412.623203] eth0: invalid MTU, max MTU is: 3838

I saw there's another debian image here where jumbo works so I think this is possible.

Some parameters need to be added but I'm not sure which one.

http://linux-sunxi.org/A20/GMAC

Should be GMAC_CTL_JE ?









Offline rose28357

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
  • Karma: +28/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wheezy server image - update 26.12.2013
« Reply #43 on: January 03, 2014, 07:53:13 am »
Use fbset to change or request screen settings. Maybe it does work for cubie at least to show the settings.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2014, 12:51:14 pm by rose28357 »

Kit

  • Guest
Re: Wheezy server image - update 3.1.2014
« Reply #44 on: January 05, 2014, 11:40:45 am »
Im flashing CTDebian_1.3_hdmi . But HDMI dont work :(